program

Story Walk Summer 2015

I have grown to love Story Walks. The idea is very simple- take a book, disassemble the pages, mount the pages on large signs, hang/plant the signs outdoors, and have families walk through the story. Last summer, I did a Story Walk with I Took My Frog to the Library by Eric Kimmel:
For each stop along the walk, I had a coloring page featuring the animal. By the end of the walk, each child would have made his or her own coloring book to take home. We actually kept the signs assembled and I was able to put it out a few more times over the summer for field trips and other big events. It went well enough that I did another one with The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats over the winter and will do another one this summer. Unfortunately, I forgot to take any close-up pictures, but here are a few of the set-up:

 

 

 

Leave a comment