Big Kids · storytime

Big Kids Storytime- The Great Outdoors

This week we did a (moderately) successful experiment and had storytime outside to go along with the theme. I had to make storytime a little shorter than normal (about 20 minutes instead of thirty) because it was a little distracting, but I still think it was really fun to do something different. Here’s what we were up to:

Hello Friends

Hello friends, hello friends

Hello friends- it’s time to say hello!

Alphabet Soup

We’re making alphabet soup, we’re making alphabet soup

We’ll stir the pot until it’s hot- we’re making alphabet soup

ABCs

Explorers of the Wild by Cale Atkinson

26245965

I’m An Acorn

I’m an acorn small and round

Lying on the cold,cold ground

People always step on me

That is why I’m cracked you see

I’m a nut (knock knock), I’m a nut (knock, knock)

I’m a nut, I’m a nut, I’m a nut (knock knock)

Fall Is Not Easy by Marty Kelley

fall-is-not-easy

Five Little Apples

5 little apples growing in a tree, teasing Mr. Horse you can’t get me

Along comes Mr. Horse as quiet as can be

And SNAPS! that apple right out of the tree

(repeat until all apples are gone)

5 little apples

Shakin’ Like a Leafy Tree (from Racing to the Rainbow by the Wiggles)

Goodbye Friends

Goodbye friends, goodbye friends

Goodbye friends- it’s time to say goodbye!

And some other fun, outdoors-y books that I loved but didn’t quite have time for this week:

9780062274458_p0_v1_s1200x630

2c173275cab6daa487703c33f8dd972c

51jgoja3bxl-_sx258_bo1204203200_

finding-wild-jpeg

9781681190266

Leave a Reply

